Kats’ Kitchen

Honey Pear Bread September 11, 2015

Filed under: Bread,Breakfast — stacielk @ 10:45 am
Tags: , ,

Hi!  I’m not sure if I should welcome you back or myself back.  It’s been a long 7 months!  Since my last post our family has welcomed a new little pumpkin to the family.  She is a month now and I’m ready to get my baking hat back on!  Honestly, I think it’s been 2 months since I’ve baked anything!  (and I can’t blame the Summer heat, the 90 degree days usually don’t turn me away from starting up my oven :) I’m ready to get back to it.  I can’t promise how much I’ll be posting but I’m happy to be getting this one on my blog!

Pear bread.  Never even thought of making this until my neighbor, who has a pear tree in their yard, delivered a bag full of pears.  Too many pears to eat, although they are delicious fresh!  So I went on a quick search for some pear recipes and came across this one.  It turned out fantastic.  The spices together with the sweet chunks of pear went well together. Besides a cut in my hand and forgetting to set the oven timer, the bread was a success!

My house smelled wonderful as the loaves baked in my oven.  Like Fall.  Mmmm.  Enjoy!

 

Honey Pear BreadPEAR BRD

1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup applesauce
1/4 cup honey

2 splashes milk (about 1/8 cup)
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 T vanilla extract

1 1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
3 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground allspice
2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
3 TB ground flax meal (dry)

4 cups of very firm pears, chopped

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease 3 medium loaf, 1 large loaf pans or muffin tins.

In a bowl, combine brown sugar, coconut oil, applesauce and honey.  Stir together.  Stir in the eggs and vanilla to incorporate.

In another bowl, combine salt, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, allspice, all-purpose and wheat flours, and flax meal.  Mix dry ingredients well.

Gently fold honey mixture into dry ingredients, just until completely moistened.  Gently fold in pears.

Pour batter into prepared pan(s) and bake 40-50 minutes for medium loaves, 60 for large or 18-23 for muffins (please check as needed with a toothpick)

Recipe adopted from Chew Out Loud

 

Leave a comment