Kats’ Kitchen

Cajun Chicken Alfredo May 9, 2012

Filed under: Chicken,Main Dishes — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I love anything alfredo.  Something about that creamy white sauce.  This Cajun Chicken Alfredo was as good as any restaurant dish I’ve had.  The chicken had a nice kick from the Cajun seasoning and I loved the grill taste (the original recipe has you saute it, I decided to let my husband join in on the cooking and grill it).  The sauce turned out great, even with using part heavy cream part skim milk.  I would try a different vegetable next time.  I’m not sure how I don’t have much experience with sun-dried tomatoes, what the original recipe called for, so I chose to use an orange pepper, that’s what I had in the house.  Next time I would try broccoli or asparagus.   Overall I was extremely happy with this dish and will be making it again!

Cajun Chicken Alfredo

4 (5-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 cup blackening spice (recommended: Paul Prudhomme’s Chicken)(I used MUCH less)

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

3 tablespoons minced garlic

1 cup roughly chopped marinated sun-dried tomatoes (I used orange pepper, but I would think broccoli, asparagus or other veggies would work also)

1/4 cup white wine

3 cups heavy cream (I used 1 cup cream and 2 cups skim milk – turned out fine)

3/4 cup grated Parmesan

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 pound cooked fettuccine

1/2 cup sliced scallions (I forgot to top the dish off with this)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Dredge the chicken breasts in the blackening spice and grill till cooked through.  Keep warm.

In a saute pan over medium heat, add 2 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil.  Add garlic and lightly caramelize.  Then add the sun-dried tomatoes or other vegetable.  Deglaze the pan with the white wine.  Add the heavy cream/milk, increase the heat to a simmer, and reduce the cream sauce by half.

When the cream sauce is to desired consistency, stir in 1/2 cup Parmesan, salt, pepper, and pasta.

Slice chicken against the grain.  Place pasta mixture on plate.  Top with sliced chicken.  Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan.

Recipe from Foodnetwork.com (ingredients exact instructions adapted)