Kats’ Kitchen

Apple Cream Cheese Coffee Cake April 28, 2016

Filed under: Breakfast,cake,Uncategorized — stacielk @ 10:34 am
Tags: , ,

I was planning to head to my mom’s one Friday.  My husband was going to be out of town for the weekend, my mom was having outpatient surgery the day before.  So I thought it would be nice for her to have some company and entertainment (aka my little ones)apple.

Before heading over there she started talking about this coffee cake she pinned.  She asked if I had a block of cream cheese.  I did.  I usually do have extra of those.  So I planned to bring it so she could whip this together.  My mom called back, “do you have flour” she asked.  I did, I ALWAYS have flour, plus some.  She was running low, so I lugged my flour container and block of cream cheese over.  Little did I know I was going to be ‘throwing’ this coffee cake together. :)

It was simple to make, maybe slightly time consuming because of the 3 components and the chopping of the apple.  But not difficult.

I popped it in the oven and before we knew it the house aroma was divine!  The coffeecake turned out great.  The sugery topping was a bit over the top…hence the comment on reducing the sugar in the recipe.  But otherwise, I loved it!  It was delicious slightly warm or chilled.  With a good cup of coffee.

Cream Cheese Apple Coffee Cake

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped apples (chopped small)Cream Cheese Layer Ingredients:
  • 8 oz. softened cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons white sugarStreusel Ingredients:
  • 3/4 cup white sugar(reduce if you don’t like extremely sweet topping!)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter

Preheat oven to 350ºF and grease an 8×8 inch square pan.

Combine the butter and sugars for the cake and mix until fluffy. Add the egg, oil, and vanilla and mix until combined.

Stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon and stir into the butter mixture, mixing just until combined. Stir in the chopped apples. Spread into the prepared pan.

Mix together the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla for the cream cheese layer and spread over the cake batter in the pan.

Combine all the streusel ingredients using your hands or a pastry blender until well combined. Sprinkle over the cream cheese mixture.

Bake for about 45 minutes or until the topping is browned.

Can be stored in the refrigerator.

Recipe from Yammie’s Noshery

 

Leave a Reply

