Kats’ Kitchen

Salt-Topped Chocolate, Toffee and Pecan Cookies August 7, 2014

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 2:21 pm
Tags: , , ,

Toffee Cookies

Not sure if I have mentioned, but I LOVE my pecans.  Love them in my waffles, coated in sugar and in cookies.  Although I don’t usually put them in cookies, but this time I did.  I saw this recipe in some newspaper booklet or mailing of some sort a few years back.  I was going through my cabinets and found some toffee bites that needed to be eaten, so instead of eating them by the handful, I decided to make these cookies.  Sure glad I did b/c they are awesome!  They almost remind me of shortbread a bit, I love the salt that is sprinkled over the top before baking, love the sweet/salty combo.  And the toffee/pecan combo worked out great.

I call these ‘mommy’s cookies’.   I made some chocolate chip cookies the same day for the kiddos and daddy.  They probably wouldn’t like ’em anyway…or so I tell myself :)

Salt-Topped Chocolate, Toffee and Pecan Cookies

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

2 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/3 cup milk  chocolate toffee bites (or 7 oz of toffee bars chopped in pieces)

1 cup coarsely chopped pecans (salted/roasted if possible, or just toast yourself)

Coarse salt, for sprinkling

Combine butter, brown sugar and white sugar in an electric mixer and beat on high speed until light and fluffy.

Add the salt and baking powder, then the flour, 1 cup at a time, on low until just blended.  Mix in the toffee and pecans.

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper (parchment is highly recommended…if you don’t have parchment, like I didn’t, grease the pans and after the cookies cooled, I placed the entire pan in the fridge and then ‘budged’ the cookies off the sheet b/c they crumbled when I tried to get them off when a bit warmed yet.)…..sorry about the explanation, onto the recipe….

Make 2-3 Tablespoon balls and place them on the cookie sheet.  Flatten to 1/4 in with a fork and refrigerate at least 1 hr.

Preheat oven to 325.  Sprinkle each cookie with a pinch of coarse salt and bake for 15-20 min until cookies are set and golden brown around the edges.

 

Leave a Reply

