Kats’ Kitchen

Baked Spaghetti October 17, 2013

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 10:50 am
Tags: , , , ,

So I went to make this Baked Spaghetti the other day and as I was opening my container of cottage cheese, well, I found out that I bought sour cream instead.  Bummed.  That is what I was.  I was so looking forward to trying some cottage cheese in my comforting pasta dish that night.  Not that I was going to toss everything that I put together so far and order take-out, but I was still bummed.  I thought for about 20 seconds and remember this Spaghetti Pie that I have made quite a bit and decided to combine the two recipes.  This kind of dish is supper easy.  You can make it how your family likes it!

My Baked Spaghetti turned out great.  My daughter kept saying how much she loved it (even though she told me she didn’t like ‘baked spaghetti’ when she asked what we were having for dinner…typical 3 year old).  The one ingredient that drew me toward the original Baked Spaghetti recipe I was using was cinnamon.  Who would have thought….in spaghetti?  but some way, some how it actually added a great little spice/warmth to the dish.  It is hard to explain, you’ll have to just try it for yourself to understand fully.  I have been waiting at least a month for a pasta dish like this….I have a hard time feeding my family comforting food like this on 80+ degree days.  spaghetti

Stacie’s Baked Spaghetti

1 pkg (16 ounces) spaghetti (I used 13 oz of whole wheat)

1 lb ground beef

1 medium onion

2 cloves of garlic

1 1/2 jar (36 ounces) meatless spaghetti sauce

1/4 tsp cinnamon (you can use up to 1/2)

2 eggs

1 T of Olive Oil

1 tsp of Pepper

1 tsp Garlic Powder

1 tsp Onion Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

4 T butter

1/2-1 cup Parmesan Cheese (the real stuff if you can get it)

3ish cups  shredded mozzarella cheese

Cook Pasta according to the directions on the box.  Preheat oven to 350.

Heat oil in a medium skillet.  Chop the onion and garlic in food processor and add them to the skillet and cook for 10 minutes, until translucent.  Add beef to onions mixture and cook through until no more pink remains.  Drain beef.

Add Sauce and mix.  Swirl empty jar of sauce with 1/4ish cup water and add that to the beef mixture also (to get rest of sauce out of jar).  Add cinnamon, onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, and salt.

Toss cooked pasta with the butter until melted.  Add Parmesan cheese and eggs and mix until combined.

In a 9×13 greased pan (or two 8×8 dishes) place the pasta on the bottom.  Pour the meat sauce over the top and sprinkle the top with the mozzarella cheese.

Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes or until bubbley and heated through.

Recipe adopted from here and here

 

Leave a Reply

