Kats’ Kitchen

Pork Chops with Apricot-Brandy Glaze April 9, 2013

Filed under: Main Dishes,Pork — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Apri-Brandy-Pork-Chops-02

So I decided to open my William-Sonoma Grilling Cookbook a few days back.  One I haven’t touched in….years probably.  We love grilling, my husband is a fantastic griller, but we know what we like, it is easy, we make the same things over and over BUT it was time for something new.  I had Apricot jam/preserves sitting in my fridge from a dip I made a couple of months back and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with the rest of it….UNTIL I found this recipe in the cookbook.  I had everything in my house!  I love when I find recipes that I don’t have to make a quick run to the grocery store for any ingredients, or at least write them down on a grocery list.  So a couple of days after finding it, we gave this Pork Chop recipe a try.  So glad I did!  The spice rub and glaze worked perfectly together.  It was a great change from our normal ‘blackened’ pork chop or marinated pork chop.  Will be making this recipe again soon! (especially since my jam jar has more left yet!)

Pork Chops with Apricot-Brandy Glaze (serves 4-8)

8 pork loin or rib chops at least 1-in thick

Spice Rub:

1 T sweet paprika

1 T garlic powder

1 tsp dried thyme

1 ½ tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground pepper

Glaze:

½ cup apricot jam

2 T apricot brandy (or other brandy)

1 T dry mustard

Juice of 1 lemon (or 2 T lemon juice)

Mix the spice rub ingredients together and rub generously on both sides of the chops.

Heat the jam in a small bowl in the microwave until just warm.  Stir in the brandy, mustard and lemon juice.  Set aside.  Reheat slightly just before using.

Grill the chops over medium-high heat, turning once.  Move to unheated portion of the grill.  Brush generously with the warm glaze on both sides and cover the grill.  Cook for 2-4 minutes more to let glaze set and until chops are cooked through.

Transfer the chops to a platter and cover loosely with foil.  Let rest 3-5 minutes before serving.

Recipe from Williams-Sonoma Grilling

Apri-Brandy-Pork-Chops-01

 

Leave a Reply

