Kats’ Kitchen

Chicken Thighs with Garlic January 14, 2013

Filed under: Chicken — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

CHicken

This is unlike me…posting two dinner recipes without a sweet treat or dessert in between them.  I must still be burned out from all the holiday sweets.  Or not, I don’t think I could ever be burned out from sweets!  This recipe came from a cookbook called Favorite Recipes by Mops at Bethel CRC.  I have only made a handful of dinner recipes from this book, I think I mainly stick to the cookies, bars and cakes in this book, as with many other church recipe books I own, but noticed that I have been missing out.  This recipe caught my attention after going through the book at least 10 times!  Not sure why I didn’t notice it before.  It does not include any kind of creamed soup or cheese, which I always keep an eye open for since the husband isn’t so fond of cheese….except on pizza of course.  So here ya go, Chicken Thighs with Garlic.  Feel free to use legs, breasts or other chicken parts to your liking.  The outcome is  super tender, fall-off-the-bone chicken pieces with  nice flavor.  And don’t forget the crusty bread to squeeze and spread the roasted garlic on!  Yum!

Chicken Thighs with Garlic

1/3 cup olive oil

16 chicken thighs, skin removed (3 thighs and 3 drumsticks to make about half of the recipe)

4 ribs of celery, cut in long strips

2 medium onions, chopped

6 sprigs parsley

1 tsp basil

1/2 cup white wine or apple juice

2 tsp salt, if desired

1/4 tsp pepper

1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

4o cloves garlic, unpeeled

Coat chicken with oil on all sides and set aside.

Scatter celery, onion, parsley and basil in a roasting pan or large casserole.  Place chicken thighs on top and pour wine/juice over chicken, sprinkle with salt, pepper and nutmeg.

Tuck garlic cloves around and between chicken.  Cover tightly with foil and top with lid to prevent steam from escaping.

Bake for 1 1/2 hours at 375 degrees.

Serve with pan juices and garlic cloves.  Squeeze garlic from root end onto french bread slices and spread like butter.

Recipe from Favorite Recipes by Mops @ Bethel CRC

 

2 Responses to “Chicken Thighs with Garlic”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    SEE that is why we read and re-read our cookbooks, we are not “food nerds” we ARE smart!!! Finding these kinda little recipe gems is so fun!! Thanks for sharing this, it looks fantastic!! 40 cloves of garlic?? REALLY!?!?!? yum yum.

  2. stacielk Says:

    You could probably use less garlic. I think I used 1 bulb plus a few. My husband didn’t smear the garlic on the bread, just me, even 20 was TOOOOO many for me! But I guess it adds nice flavor to the chicken also.


Leave a Reply

