Kats’ Kitchen

Banana Bars/Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting August 25, 2012

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets,cake — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

For some reason I kept buying bananas.  Too many bananas to eat before they got to the brown stage where I then throw them in the freezer to bake them up in, usually, some banana bread.  After making a double batch of banana bread and still having 8-10 bananas still sitting in my freezer, it was time for something new.  So I jumped on foodgawker.com and searched ‘banana’.  Sure enough, I found some great looking baked goods, including these Banana Bars.  I think it was the Cream Cheese frosting that screamed ‘bake me!’

These were delicious!  I will be sure to make them overa nd over again.  The original recipe calls them bars because they are thinner than a cake, but after reading a few of the comments, I was thinking they may be just a bit too thin…so I made 1 1/2 times the recipe and the bar/cake part ended up to be about 1.5 inches thick.  I think if you would make the recipe as is, you would probably get a 1 inch bar….if this matters to you at all!  I also suggest her recommendation of covering the bars after they cool for only 20 minutes.

You know you want to make them – head on over to Cooking Classy for the recipe!

 

One Response to “Banana Bars/Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. Rose Says:

    I love banana bars! I’ll follow your recipe to the letter since I love my bars a little thick. I can’t wait to taste these little treats.


Leave a Reply

