Kats’ Kitchen

Almond Coffee Cake August 6, 2012

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I first want to say I do not think this picture does this coffee cake justice.  I should have taken a picture of a cut piece of the coffee cake, but that probably wouldn’t have done much either.  My opinion, you just have to make it for yourself!

I get my almond paste during the holiday at a grocery store in my area called Walts.  They carry it in the bakery area in a fridge.  I have never used the stuff from a can so I can’t give an opinion on that stuff.  Almond paste freezers really well so I usually stock up around the holiday so I can have a special treat like this throughout the year.

This is a really moist rich almondy coffee cake.  I wouldn’t hesitate serving it as a dessert and leftovers for breakfast the next morning.

Almond Coffee Cake

1 ½ sticks margarine, softened (12 T)

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup sour cream

8 oz almond paste

½ tsp vanilla

Topping:

½ cup sugar

1 cup flour

½ stick margarine, softened (4 T)

Icing:

1 cup powdered sugar

½ tsp almond extract

2 T milk

Preheat oven to 375.  Mix first 3 ingredients.  Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, sour cream and vanilla.  Mix well.  Crumble up almond paste, add to mixture and mix until broken in smaller pieces throughout batter.  Pour into a greased and floured 9×13.

Mix topping ingredients until crumbly and sprinkle on top of batter.  Bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes.  Test with a toothpick to make sure it is done.

Prepare icing and drizzle over cooled cake.

Recipe slightly adopted from Tried and True:  Real Recipes from Real Moms

 

2 Responses to “Almond Coffee Cake”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    This was soooo good! I will definitely be making it once I get a kitchen and figure out where to find some almond paste:)

  2. Mary Says:

    I make my own almond paste and 1/4 cup equals 2 ounces. There are several recipes to make your own almond paste. The one I use is made with almond flour. Much easier than starting with almonds.


Leave a Reply

