Kats’ Kitchen

Raisin Bran Muffins July 30, 2012

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

I saw this recipe on Pinch of Yum a while back.  I wanted to make the muffins the second I saw the picture of the ooey gooey honey and butter melting over the just-out-of the oven muffin (go ahead, look at it yourself and tell me you aren’t drooling right now), but for one reason or another, I wasn’t able to….and now I wish I made them every day for the last month because they are ridiculously (sry to use this word two posts in a row…) good.  Not sure if it is the fresh out-of-the-oven muffin (I will let you know if they aren’t as good the next day, although Pinch of Yum has a suggestion for fresh muffins everyday – read bottom of recipe to learn) or if it was the melted butter and drizzle of honey that made them delicious.  I was a bit unsure of the honey…I do like honey in stuff but havn’t been one to just drizzle honey over muffins, breads, etc.  I think I am one of those people who will do it all the time now!  Deliciousness!  Enough said.  Here is the recipe:

Raisin Bran Muffins (makes 9 regular size muffins, double for more!)

1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 cup buttermilk (I used 1/2 c milk and 1/2 cup sour cream (plain yogurt could also be used in stead of the sour cream)

2 cups Raisin Bran cereal

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Mix in order and bake in muffin tin at 400 degrees for 12-20 minutes, depending on pan size. (My regular size muffins took 15 min). Let cool at least 10 minutes. Top with butter and honey.

Save leftover batter in the refrigerator. For individual servings, scoop into ramekin/mug and microwave for 1 minute.

Recipe from Pinch of Yum

 

Leave a Reply

