Kats’ Kitchen

Raspberry Cheesecake Bars July 20, 2012

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 7:00 am

As you have probably noticed from all my previous posts, if you are a regular reader, I do not make too many fruity-type bars/desserts.  Probably mainly because I enjoy my chocolate better than something fruity and maybe because I think others are the same….but I should not assume that.  I offered to bring a dessert for a girl’s night I had earlier this week, so I went through one of my favorite cookbooks and tagged about 6 recipes that jumped out at me.  All of them non-chocolaty desserts – I think the heat we have been having over the last few weeks made me want to make something more summery and refreshing.  I then went to my sister to help me make the final decision and these Raspberry Cheesecake Bars won.  I am so glad I made them.  I love the raspberry cheesecake combo with the addition of the almonds.  Yum!  Try them for yourself, I do not think you will be disappointed!

Raspberry Cheesecake Bars

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup finely chopped sliced almonds

1/2 cup butter-flavor shortening or shortening

2 (8 oz) pkgs cream cheese, softened

2/3 cup sugar

2 eggs

3/4 tsp almond extract

1 cup seedless raspberry preserves or other preserves/jam

1/2 cup flaked coconut

1/2 cup sliced almonds

In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar and 1/2 cup finely chopped almonds.  Cut in shortening until mixture resembles fine crumbs.  Set aside 1/2 cup crumb mixture for topping.  Press the remaining crumb mixture into the bottom of a 9×13 baking pan for the crust.  Bake in a 350 oven for 12-15 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

In an other mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar, eggs and almond extract until smooth.  Spread over the hot crust.  Return to oven and bake for 15 minutes.  Spread preserves over cream cheese mixture.

In a small bowl, combine the reserved crumb mixture, coconut and sliced almonds.  Sprinkle over preserves.  Return to oven and bake for 15 minutes more.  Cool in pan on a wire rack.  Chill for 3 hours before cutting into bars.  Store the cheesecake bars in the refrigerator.

Recipe from:  Prized recipes to Cook and Savor (PRCS)

 

One Response to “Raspberry Cheesecake Bars”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    I am with you! Something about this heat makes fruity cold cheesecakey things sound FANTASTIC! I went to write down this recipe and I realized that it came from a cookbook that I have, I LOVE it when that happens! Thanks, I will star it for sure!


Leave a Reply

