Kats’ Kitchen

A new kind of Scotcharoo July 10, 2012

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

You probably know what I’m talking about, the scatcharoos with the peanut butter rice crispies that is topped or sandwiching a butterscotch chocolate mixture.  Well these have a very similar taste, but a bit different texture.  For one, there are no rice crispies in them.  Instead, they contain oatmeal!  I liked them a lot.  Won’t give up the good old scatcharoo but will make them again!

One thing I would change next time is to put it in a larger pan.  It calls for a 10×15.  I halved the recipe and put it in a 8×8.  I new it was going to be a bit thicker but I think I overbaked them just a bit because of it being thicker.  The only thing I changed from the original recipe is using dark chocolate – I am loving the rich dark chocolate these days!  But you use what chocolate you like.

Glazed Peanut Butter Bars

3/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons water

1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 cups quick-cooking oats

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

In a large bowl, cream the butter, peanut butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Beat in the eggs, water and vanilla. Combine the flour, oats, baking soda and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.

Spread into a greased 15x10x1 in. baking pan.  Bake at 325° for 18-22 minutes or until lightly browned.

Chocolate Glaze

1-1/4 cups milk chocolate chips (I used DARK!)

1/2 cup butterscotch chips

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Using a microwave, melt chips and peanut butter; stir until smooth.  Pour over warm bars; spread evenly.  Cool completely on a wire rack before cutting.  Yield: 4 dozen.

Recipe from Taste of Home.  Inspiration from Farenheit 350.

 

3 Responses to “A new kind of Scotcharoo”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Mom said I should tell you she likes her Scotcharoos better…ha ha…hope you like that for a comment:) I liked the chewiness of these those…the flavor of the other ones better…

  2. Stephanie Says:

    oops…let me make more sense…I like the chewiness of these and the flavor the the rice crispy ones better…

  3. stacielk Says:

    I would agree with your comment. The rice crispy scotacharoos I think have a stronger peanut butter/butterscotch flavor which I really like – that why I wouldn’t replace these bars for a scotcharoo :)


Leave a Reply

