Kats’ Kitchen

Chicken Enchiladas May 22, 2012

Filed under: Chicken,Main Dishes — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

(my preheated enchilada topped with homemade Pico De Gallo and lettuce)

I came across this recipe on foodwagker.  I haven’t made or eaten Enchiladas in a long time and kind of had a taste for them.  I usually make Enchiladas with a red sauce, but loved the change with the recipe having a white sauce.  I also really like that this recipe doesn’t have any canned soup in it.  Don’t get me wrong,  do make recipes with canned soup, but really like when I find them without that ingredient.  I like making things from scratch.

Try these for yourself.  I don’t think you would be disappointed.  My changes are in parenthesis.

Chicken Enchiladas

10 soft taco shells (if you want more chicken filling per shell, use only 7-8 shells for the amount of filling, as I would do next time)

2 cups cooked, shredded chicken

2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese

3 Tbsp. butter

2 Tbsp. Corn Starch

2 cups chicken broth

1 Clove of Minced Garlic

1/2 Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper

1 cup sour cream

1 teaspoon Onion Powder

1 teaspoon Garlic Powder

1 teaspoon Cumin

1 Teaspoon of lime juice

1 Finely Chopped jalapeno Seeded

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 pan.

In a medium size bowl mix chicken, 1 cup of cheese and garlic.  Roll mixture into tortillas and place into pan.
In a sauce pan melt the butter and stir in corn starch and cook for one minute.  Add broth and whisk until smooth.  Keep over heat until it bubbles and becomes thick.  Stir in sour cream, chopped jalapeno, cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, lime, salt and pepper.  Do not let it boil.

Pour mixture over enchiladas and top with the last cup of cheese.

Bake for 25 min. until the cheese is melted and browned and the enchiladas are heated through.

Recipe from Budget Savvy Diva

 

One Response to “Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    Made these last night and they were FANTASTIC! I will for sure be making them again! (I used 8 tortilla shells and thought the filling amount inside was just right!) THANKS!


Leave a Reply

