Kats’ Kitchen

Taco Mix April 30, 2012

Filed under: Main Dishes,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

This doesn’t need much intro.  Instead of buying those taco seasoning packets, I’ve started making my own using this recipe.  I use 2 T per pound of meat and it seems like the perfect ratio.  As mentioned in the Chicken-Taco Cornbread Pie, I used 3 T and it was a little spicier than we like it – even for my husband, which is a shocker, so I will reduce that to 1.5-2 T next time I make it.

Taco Mix (T=tablespoon & t=teaspoon)

2 T chili powder

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t onion powder

1/2 t red pepper flakes

1/2 t oregano

1 t paprika

1 T cumin

2 1/2 t kosher salt

2 t pepper

Mix all ingredients together.  Mix 2 T mix with 1 pound of meat.

Recipe from Beth (Tried & True)

 

2 Responses to “Taco Mix”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    PERFECT timing, I will be making this TONIGHT!! Tacos for dinner and no taco mix packet, ugh, thanks for the help!!! And NO crazy ingredients, LOVE it!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Made this again today…probably 3rd time. Love it! Thanks Stacie!


Leave a Reply

