Kats’ Kitchen

Crunchy Granola April 25, 2012

Filed under: Breakfast,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

I loved my first batch of granola so much I decided to make another.  This time I tried King Arthur Flour’s Crunchy Granola.  Turned out wonderful!  As far as which I like better, to be perfectly honest, I liked this one a tiny bit better.  The recipe below calls for coconut, which is optional.  I would leave it out next time.  Even though I do like coconut and the Crunchy Granola, below, disappeared TOO quickly, I still would have left it out – something about it, mainly when eating it like cereal with milk – when I ate it in on top of yogurt, I didn’t seem to notice the coconut.  I also should have added a bit more ‘wet’ igredients.  Maybe another 2 T oil and 2/3 cup syrup.  After mixing, it seemed a bit too dry, but continued on without changing anything the first time around.  Don’t let this stop you from trying it, especially if you LOVE granola.  It is another great recipe and has some great reviews on King Arthur Flour, where the recipe came from.

Crunchy Granola

3 1/2 cups old fashion oats

1/2 cup flaked unsweetened coconut (opt)

1/2 cup stabilized wheat germ

1/2 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup diced pecans or walnuts (I used 1/2 of both and omitted the sunflower seeds)

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup pure maple syrup (the real stuff!)

1/2 T vanilla

2 1/2 cups mixed dried fruit (I omitted since I enjoy granola with yogurt and fresh fruit)

In a large bowl combine oats, coconut, wheat germ, nuts & seeds.  Mix in another bowl the oil, salt, syrup and vanilla.  Pour wet ingredients over dry till everything is combined.  Spread on large lightly greased baking sheet and bake at 250 for 90 minutes stirring every 15 minutes until light-med. gold brown.  Cool and stir in dried fruit if using.

Recipe from King Arthur Flour

my FAVORITE way to eat granola!

 

Leave a Reply

