Kats’ Kitchen

Chicken-Taco Cornbread Pie April 17, 2012

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I recently got a new cookbook called Tried & True.  It is full of recipes that a bunch of moms submitted claiming they were easy quick family friendly recipes.  I went through the book the day I received it.  I then sat on the couch and went through it again that night, and of course, once again the next day.  I LOVE paging through recipe books trying to imagine what each recipe would bring to the table.  Call me a nerd, that’s ok, I’m not going to stop!

I’ve made a few recipes already from this book, hoping to post the others also, but the other night I made something called a Chicken-Taco Cornbread Pie.  I LOVED it!  I think it was something about the cornbread on top that made it so good.  It’s a really simple meal thrown into a pie plate and baked.  I served it with…nothing!  Probably would have served a salad, but I only eat salads in the fam and I had one for lunch, so instead, my husband and I ate 3/4 of the pie!!!  (my husband liked it also, as far as how much he liked it, you will have to ask him) My daughter enjoyed making it with me, trying the chicken as it was simmering and digging her hand into the cheese, but she wasn’t a big fan of the cornbread and the chicken mixture was too spicy for her – my fault!  I will be making this one again!

Oh yes, I also had plans to make THIS Dessert Pizza that night but totally forgot until the Cornbread Pie was in the oven – but that didn’t stop me!  I still put it together and we ate it later in the night, which was a good thing b/c my husband and I were stuffed after dinner…  That dessert was excellent.  It kind of reminds me of an apple pie but better, with more crumble topping and less apples :)

Chicken-Taco Cornbread Pie

1 T vegetable oil

1 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1 pkg (1-1/4 oz) Taco Seasoning (I used homemade and it only needed 1.5-2 T…I put in 3!!!  I didn’t know how spicy it was going to be)

3/4 cup water

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 pkg (8 1/2 oz) corn muffin mix + ingredients as listed on box to make corn muffins

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Heat oil in large skillet on medium high heat.  Add chicken; cook and stir 5 min. or until done.  Stir in peppers, seasoning mix and water.  Bring to boil; simmer on med-low heat 10 min.  stirring occasionally.

Spoon into 9-inch pie plate (I added probably 1/3 of the juice, not all of it), sprinkle with cheese.  Prepare muffin mix as directed on pkg; spoon over cheese and spread, completely covering cheese layer.

Bake 20 min. or until golden brown.  Let stand 5 min. before serving.

Recipe from Kelly (Tried & True)

 

One Response to “Chicken-Taco Cornbread Pie”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    YUM!!! This looks DELISH!! I will be making it soon! I too have that recipe marked, but will move it higher on my list of things to make, GREAT picture!


Leave a Reply

