Kats’ Kitchen

Broccoli & Cheese Patties April 14, 2012

Filed under: Side Dish — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been making these for my daughter to get some good veggies in her.  She usually eats them up pretty easily, without ketchup or any other dip, but would be willing to try a dip if she didn’t.  I enjoy them myself.  The recipe came from Weelicious.com.  I’ve made these 3-4 times now and they are easily frozen, which is a bonus.

Don’t mind my “in the cooking process” pictures – I figured that is when I can find time to grab a picture so I don’t have to worry about it while I’m getting dinner on the table.

Broccoli & Cheese Patties

1 russet potato, peeled and cubed

1 cup broccoli florets (I include some stem)

1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

3 T panko or bread crumbs (I prefer panko!)

1/2 t salt

1 lrg egg

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp onion powder

1/2 cup panko or bread crumbs

1 T canola or vege oil (I use cooking spray)

Place the potato cubes in a steamer pot over boiling water and cook for 8 minutes.

Add the broccoli to the steamer pot and steam the vegetables for an additional 2-5 minutes, or until they are fork tender. Then, remove everything from pot and allow them to cool.

Mash the potatoes in a large bowl and chop the broccoli florets into small bite-size pieces.

Add the broccoli, cheese, panko, salt, egg, garlic and onion powder to the bowl and combine.

Place the remaining 1/2 cup of panko in a separate bowl. Using a ice cream scoop or 2 tbsp to measure, roll the mixture into balls, coat them in the panko and then shape each one into a small patty. (At this point, place the patties on a baking sheet and freeze for one hour.  Put the patties in zipper bags and label. Defrost when ready to use and cook following below instructions.)

Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a skillet over medium heat, place the patties in the skillet and press down with a spatula to flatten a little.  Pan-fry for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden.

Serve with ketchup or any favorite dipping sauce.

Recipe from Weelicious.com

 

 

2 Responses to “Broccoli & Cheese Patties”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    These ARE good! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. Duffy Says:

    I love this recipe. You can add so much to it for diversity.


Leave a Reply

