Kats’ Kitchen

Pan-Roasted Potatoes April 10, 2012

Filed under: Side Dish — stacielk @ 8:04 am
Tags: , ,

I used to work with a guy who did a lot of cooking himself.  We would chat food quite a bit and he would even give me ingredients that he would order in bulk, I never turned them down!  One day he brought in a recipe book and told me that these were the best potatoes.  He copied it for me and I’ve had it in my ‘homemade’ cookbook ever since (this was 3-4 years ago!).  I don’t know the exact cookbook where the recipe came from, but in the “Chef’s Secret” it says that this was the only type of potatoes served since opening The Bakery Restaurant.  The restaurant got many letters asking for the recipe and many guests asked for seconds of the potatoes.  I have no idea where this restaurant is located and if it is even still open.

The potatoes turned out great.  They are precooked so the centers are not raw and they are cooled before roasting so they didn’t break apart and become over-cooked.  According to the recipe, the paprika gives the potatoes a nice golden color.  They are not greasy b/c of the small amount of shortening used and they taste great!  The paprika gave them a little kick – nothing overbearing.  I would love to try other seasonings with this recipe also.  My changes are in parentheses.

Pan-Roasted Potatoes (serves 5-8)

2 lbs potatoes

1 T caraway seeds (opt) (left out but would try next time)

2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 T paprika

3 T butter

3 T lard (I used crisco, maybe the same thing…)

2 T finely chopped parsley for decoration (omitted)

Wash and peel the potatoes, then wash them again.  Cut them into uneven cubes, about 1 inch.  Place them in a large pot with enough cold water to cover plus one inch.  Add the caraway seeds and 1 tsp of the salt.  Bring the potatoes and liquid to  boil over medium heat.  As soon as the water starts to boil, remove the pot from the heat and let stand for 5 minutes.  Pour off the water, place the potatoes in a bowl and let them stand at rom temperature until cooled.  (I was in a hurry so threw them in the freezer for 10 minutes)

Combine the remaining salt, black pepper and paprika.

Place the butter and lard in a large heavy skillet (I think the heavy skillet is key here – I use my cast iron which is not used often but works great to get your potatoes crunchy!)  Add the cold potatoes and sprinkle the top with the salt mixture.  Heat slowly over medium heat, turned the potatoes gently with a spatula.  Cook until the potatoes heat through and start to turn a light golden brown color.  (I cooked mine for 30-40 minutes)  Remove to a serving dish.  Sprinkle with chopped parsley.

Recipe from The Bakery Restaurant

 

3 Responses to “Pan-Roasted Potatoes”

  1. Noel Hoekstra Says:

    The Bakery was a great restaurant on Lincoln Avenue in Chicago for many years, run by Chef Louis Szathmáry. Sadly, it closed when Chef Louie retired in 1989.

  2. John Says:

    I’m certainly going to try this recipe. But: This recipe lists only 2 tsp of salt in the ingredients list. In the instructions it says to add 2 tsp of salt to the water to cook the potatoes. Then later in the recipe, it says to add the rest of the salt. Rest of what salt? You’ve already added all the salt the recipe listed in the ingredients.

  3. stacielk Says:

    My typo mistake! Thanks for pointing this out. It should be 1 tsp in the water and than the remaining tsp onto the potatoes. Please come back and let me know how you like them!


Leave a Reply

