Kats’ Kitchen

Granola March 5, 2012

Filed under: Breakfast,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

Here is yet ANOTHER first for me.  I feel like I have been making may new things lately.  I have a friend that loves granola, she has tried many recipes and this is one of her favorites, as of right now.  It turned out great!  I changed a few things, like leaving out the sunflower seeds b/c I didn’t have them in the house, and I added walnuts instead of peanuts and then included some raisins and crasins.  I can’t wait to make this and try out other granola recipes again!  It is great on top of fruit and yogurt, splashed with some milk or even eaten straight with a spoon – eat it how you want!

Granola (I made half this recipe and got this large container filled up from it!)

5 1/3 c. quick oatmeal (I used 1/2 quick and 1/2 old fashion)

1 c. oat bran (hot cereal)

1 c. wheat germ

1/4 c. sunflower seeds

1/2 c. peanuts

1/2 TB. salt

3/4 c. oil

2 T + 2 tsp brown sugar

3/4 c. honey

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/3 c. water

Almonds, coconut or any other nut (optional – add to your liking)

Raisins and/or Craisins (optional – mix these in after baking! I made the mixtake of adding it before baking which made from some crunchy raisins!)

Mix oatmeal, oat bran, wheat germ, sunflower seeds and peanuts and additional ingredients, if using.

In a separate bowl combine the salt, oil, brown sugar, honey and vanilla.

Add the oat mixture to the wet ingredients and pour onto 2 cookie sheets with sides.

Bake at 250 for 1 1/2 – 2 hours.  Stir every 1/2 hour.  Add raisins or craisins to your liking.  Enjoy!

Recipe from Bobbi R.

 

2 Responses to “Granola”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    I should get the “bad recipe giving” award! IF there is such a thing. Sorry about the raisin mis-hap, glad it is still good! I just wanted to note that you CAN and I suggest that you DO add any nuts, coconut, seeds ~ stuff like that BEFORE you bake it, it gives it nutty flavor. Saving the dry fruit for when it is already baked as you noted!

  2. stacielk Says:

    Thanks for the tip about the nuts/coconut! I was thinking those could probably be added before baking – I will change it to the recipe in case people don’t read comments before making this recipe.


Leave a Reply

