Kats’ Kitchen

Roasted Broccoli January 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — stacielk @ 7:00 am

I’ve been really enjoying my roasted vegetables lately!  Can’t believe I haven’t tried roasting vegtables before now (or I should say a couple months ago).  Brussel Sprouts drizzled with oil and sprinkled with garlic salt and pepper is a fav along with roasted broccoli and cauliflower.

I saw this recipe during a peak at pinterest.  Supposedly it came from Julia Child.  I also remember a friend telling me about a recipe like this with the lemon.  I really like how it turned out but want to be honest and say I’m not so sure about the lemon flavor added.  I think I would omit that part for now on.  My opinion, you’re taste buds may love it like I am sure others do!

(again, sorry for blurry picture…I really need to work on a steady hand…or just use a tripod!)

Roasted Broccoli

4-5 lbs broccoli (not washed – the heat will kill the germs)

5 T + more oil

1 1/2 t kosher salt, or to taste

1/2 t pepper, again to taste

garlic cloves, peeled and sliced

Preheat oven to 425.  Drizzle broccoli with oil and toss with salt and pepper.  Place it on a cookie sheet and then toss the garlic slices on top.  Roast for 20-25 minutes until crisp-tender shaking at least once or twice.  Take it out of the oven and zest a bit of lemon over the top and squeeze some juice on also (if desired).  Add a bit more oil and some parmesan cheese and serve warm.

Recipe from Julia Child

 

Leave a Reply

