Kats’ Kitchen

Kettle Corn! December 19, 2011

Filed under: Appetizer,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

This was one of those spur of the moment recipes.  It was a Sunday night, hanging out with the fam and my bro, Tyler, waiting for the frozen pizza (yes I do pull out the prepared frozen pizzas occasionally!) to come out of the oven and my bro asks, “Can I have kettle corn?”  I hesitate a moment…and another moment or two, jump on the internet, find a recipe for kettle corn and respond back to him, “If you make it, you can have it.”  And so he went to it, with my help of pulling out the ingredients and supplies.  I will take the blame for the unpopped first batch.  Maybe I took the wrong pan out or told him to pour the kernels in before the oil was ready, so when he stareted the second batch, I SHUT MY MOUTH!  Which is hard for me to do while in the kitchen….SORRY sorry sorry to anyone I have pushed around in the kitchen.  I’m pretty good about keeping my mouth shut anywhere else, BUT the kitchen is my domain :)  So anyway, the second batch of kettle corn turned out beautifully!  Thank you Tyler for this idea, something I have never thought of making myself!

We started out with a recipe from Allrecipes.com and then I jumped onto Savory Sweet Life to get some tips for the second batch.  A few tips from a pro :)  1.  Use a pretty large pot to make room for the popped kernals, with a lid of course (and not a dutch oven).  2.  Heat the oil very hot (400 or so), if you think it’s hot enough, wait another couple minutes (test it by throwing 3 kernels in, when they pop, pour in the sugar, let melt a few seconds and add the remaining kernals.  3.  Shake shake shake!!!

Kettle Corn (I’d suggest reading the tips above before making.)

1/4 cup vegetable oil (can also use butter, shortening, etc.)

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup popcorn kernels

3/4 teaspoon salt

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat to b/t 300-400 degrees.  Add popcorn and sugar giving it a quick stir and then cover with lid.  Once popcorn starts popping, pick it up and give it a quick shake every few seconds until popping slows down, between 3-4 minutes.  Remove immediately from heat and transfer the popcorn immediatly into a large bowl.  Sprinkle with salt, serve and enjoy!

Recipe adopted from Allrecipes.com and Savory Sweet Life

I’d love to hear about your kettle corn experiences, or really any of your baking/cooking experiences!

 

Leave a Reply

