Kats’ Kitchen

Two More Pumpkin Recipes December 2, 2011

Filed under: Bread,Uncategorized — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

So it’s already December, and I am now sharing with you the remaining two pumpkin recipes I made and enjoyed this fall.  Pumpkin Bread and Pumpkin Spice Latte Syrup (for, of course a yummy Pumpkin Spice Latte).  I recommend both recipes.  The bread was delicious and and the Pumpkin Spice Latte was warm and sweet, perfect for a chilly afternoon.

I should mention, the only issue I had with the Pumpkin Spice Latte Syrup was that there ended up to be leftover spice/pumpkin mixture in the bottom of my coffee mug, so I ended up straining the milk/syrup mixture before adding it to the coffee so that I wouldn’t get as much of that gritty stuff toward the end of my drink.  It worked pretty well.  I have a tiny little sifter-like thing that I received as a gift that is perfect size for this task.

Pumpkin Bread (makes 3 7×3 in loaves)

1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree

4 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

2/3 cup water

2 cups white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

2 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 7×3 inch loaf pans.

In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.

Bake for about 50 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Recipe adopted from allrecipes.com

Pumpkin Spice Syrup for Homemade Pumpkin Spice Lattes

1/3 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/4 cups water

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally to keep syrup from burning.

Let mixture cook together until it becomes syrup-y and begins to coat the spoon (for about 10-15 minutes), then remove from heat.

Refrigerate in a heat-proof container. The syrup will thicken a bit in the refrigerator, but will become syrup-y again when heated.

To make pumpkin spice latte, heat syrup with milk (about 2 cups of milk and 2-3 tablespoons of syrup, depending on how much milk or creamer you want to use and how pumpkin-y sweet you want your latte. I usually use about 2 tablespoons syrup + 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream to cut down on the sugar.). Pour into a blender or whisk until frothy, for about ten seconds (to make it thick and prevent the pumpkin from settling on the bottom). Pour into cup and stir in about 1/2 cup or more of strong, hot coffee.

Recipe from Bakegirl

 

One Response to “Two More Pumpkin Recipes”

  1. Mary Says:

    This sounds wonderful. I’m new to your blog, so I took sometime to browse through your earlier entries. I’m so gla I did that. I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers and I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


Leave a Reply

