Kats’ Kitchen

Ginger Coconut Chicken Strips November 14, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes,Uncategorized — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

Please bear with my pictures…my camera lens is broke-need to get that fixed, although I’m sure I could work on my photography skills also!

I made this for dinner a couple weeks ago.  This is the first time I used fresh ginger in a recipe.  I was a bit concerned because the fragrance coming from the ginger was pretty strong, but it actually ended up to be very tasty.  The sweet coconut and ginger adds a unique flavor to the chicken.  I wouldn’t make this all the time, but it is a good recipe to go to when I want to change up my normal chicken dinners. I got the original recipe from The Chew.  They tell you to skewer them up and fry them if you want.  Thought the skewers weren’t necessary and baking is a bit healthier than frying.

I made sweet potato wedges for a side to these chicken strips.  I LOVE sweet potato wedges!  That one is not really a recipe so I’ll quick tell you how I make ’em:  peel and cut sweet potato in wedges (they are pretty hard to cut up, but I manage.  I think you can nuke them in the micro to soften up a little before cutting).  Toss with oil salt and pepper and parsley if desired.  Bake at 450 for 20-30 minutes until crispy on the outside.

Ginger Coconut Chicken Strips – serves 4

4 8-ounce boneless and skinless chicken breasts cut lengthwise into 4 strips

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs (I used Italian bread crumbs-what I had in the house)

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

3 tbsp fresh ginger shredded

2 large eggs

1 cup sour cream drained (I used plain yogurt-no sour cream in the house)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup chopped scallions (white and green parts)

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I used a tiny pinch-if you like heat, add it all!)

salt and freshly ground black pepper

Mix flour salt and pepper in one bowl.  Bread crumbs, coconut and ginger in another (mix this with hands to make sure ginger is distributed evenly and there are no chunks).  In a third bowl whisk the eggs.  Dip the chicken strips into the flour mixtures, then egg and then bread crumb mixture.  Place on a greased pan until all chicken strips are coated.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.

To make the Honey-Scallion Sauce, mix the sour cream, honey, scallions and cayenne pepper in a bowl.  Chill for at least an hour.  Stir and serve.

Recipe adopted from The Chew

 

Leave a Reply

