Kats’ Kitchen

Bacon-Cheese Topped Chicken November 10, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 7:01 am
Tags: , , ,

I really love mushrooms.  Especially on my pizza, in eggs, stir fry or really in any dishes.  When a friend brought this recipe to my attention, I knew I was going to love it.  Marinated chicken topped with mushrooms, cheese and bacon!  Not sure what other combo could be better…except of course peanut butter and chocolate, but that’s dessert, I’m talking about supper right now.  I was a bit unsure about the marinade, since I’m not a huge mustard fan, but I adjusted the instructions a little (see below) and it turned out to be great!  I will be making this dish often!

Bacon-Cheese Topped Chicken – 4 servings

1/2 cup Dijon mustard

1/2 cup honey

4-1/2 teaspoons canola oil, divided

1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

Dash paprika

2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms

2 tablespoons butter

1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I used mozzarella b/c didn’t have this kind in my house at the time)

1 cup (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese

8 bacon strips, partially cooked

2 teaspoons minced fresh parsley (you can omit this, I had some in my fridge so I went ahead and used it)

In a small bowl, combine the mustard, honey, 1-1/2 teaspoons oil and lemon juice. Pour 1/2 cup into a large resealable plastic bag; add the chicken. Seal the bag and turn to coat; refrigerate for 2 hours or longer. Cover and refrigerate the remaining marinade.  (I ended up discarding the remaining marinade.  It still had a nice flavor with a hint of the mustard, but it wasn’t overwhelming by any means.  If you don’t like mustard, I would go this route.  If you love mustard, slather the rest of the marinade on the chicken as instructed below :)

Drain and discard marinade from chicken. In a large skillet over medium heat, brown chicken in remaining oil on all sides. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and paprika. Transfer to a  baking dish.

In the same skillet, saute mushrooms in butter until tender. Spoon reserved marinade over chicken (if using). Top with cheeses and mushrooms. Place bacon strips in a crisscross pattern over chicken or just crumbled on top.

Bake, uncovered, at 375° for 20-25 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 170°. Sprinkle with parsley.

Recipe from  Taste of Home

 

Leave a Reply

