Kats’ Kitchen

Apple Butter & Happy Birthday! November 1, 2011

Filed under: Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

First I need to announce a birthday, my little nephew who lives in Nigeria is TWO today!  Since I can’t see him in person I thought a personal happy birthday through my blog would be the next best thing…hopefully I can skype with him soon! :)  Happy Birthday Elijah!

As I was searching for good places to eat in NY, I found a restaurant called Peanut Butter and Co.  I found their menu on-line and saw some great ideas to change up a normal same-old peanut butter sandwich.  One called for apple butter, and with a plethora of apples sitting in my fridge, I found a recipe for apple butter on allrecipes.com and whipped some up.

It was on one of my busier kitchen days, the one that seem like I step out of my kitchen only to use the bathroom and change my daughter’s diaper but yet I still decided to whip the apple butter together, after the little one was down for the night.  It’s one of those recipes that needs to cook through the night.  When I woke up smelling sweet apple cinnamon deliciousness lingering in the air the next morning, I couldn’t wait to try it!  It takes a while to cook, but the hands-on work is very minimum!

The morning after throwing the ingredients in the slow cooker, I took a spoonful to give this stuff a try.  The one word that comes to mind:  Thanksgiving.  Normally I think of turkey when I think Thanksgiving but for some reason, when I tasted the warmed apple butter that’s what came to mind, it gave me goose bumps.  Let me tell you, it was strange!

The recipe is simple and I’m looking forward to all my apple butter toast, sandwiches, maybe even pork roasts, etc.  Do you have any recipes that call for apple butter?  I’d love to hear about them!

I’ve made a few changes to the recipe according to comments I read about the recipe, below is the recipe with my changes.

Apple Butter

5 1/2 pounds apples – peeled, cored and finely chopped

2 cups white sugar (this is half the amount the original recipe called for, it may possibly be even cut down more)

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon salt

Place the apples in a slow cooker. In a medium bowl, mix the sugar, cinnamon, cloves and salt. Pour the mixture over the apples in the slow cooker and mix well.

Cover and cook on high 1 hour.

Reduce heat to low and cook 9 to 11 hours, stirring occasionally, until the mixture is thickened and dark brown.  (I didn’t stir occasionally b/c I was sleeping, the edges did get a touch burned, but it turned out fine)

Uncover and continue cooking on low 1 hour.  Stir with a whisk, if desired, to increase smoothness.  (I used a hand blender, which splattered and made a mess, would maybe put it in blender next time, less mess but smooth apple butter!)  I cooked another 3-4 hours in the slow cooker after blending until it really thickened.

Spoon the mixture into sterile containers, cover and refrigerate or freeze.

Recipe adopted from allrecipes.com

And the sandwich recipe I found was from ilovepeanutbutter.com.  This is actually a restaurant in NY that I did not get to visit when I went a couple weeks back, but would have been a fun place to go.  They have a sandwich that has a honey peanut butter along with apple butter, sprinkled with wheat germ.  Yum!  It was tasty!  I’m looking forward to re-making some of the other sandwiches that are on their menu!

 

3 Responses to “Apple Butter & Happy Birthday!”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    Happy Birthday Elijah!! CUTE picture!! Do you think this can be canned??!!? I should think it would work. Looks GOOD. Cannot wait to make it. Thanks!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Aww…thanks Auntie Stacie! Elijah laughed when I started reading this to him and then he saw his photo! I emailed some birthday photos…including cupcake photos…if you want to know how to do them…let me know:)

  3. […] it was like a jam, a cinnamony apple jam ~ almost like applesauce. My friend shared this recipe on Kat’s Kitchen and I gave it a whirl. […]


Leave a Reply

