Kats’ Kitchen

Whole Grain Waffles October 28, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I wrote this recipe down while I was at a friend’s home and I’m glad I did!  My family loves waffles, and I really like the idea of ‘healthy’ waffles.  I loved these because they taste more like a normal waffle then a waffle that is full of wheat flour.  I’ve had some not so great experiences making pancakes with wheat flour and I think it’s because I was using something other than ‘fine-stone ground whole wheat flour’.  If you’re not liking the taste of whole wheat flour in recipes, look for the fine-ground in the store.  I get it from a little store in MI so I’m not sure if it is in your normal grocery store. (Or you could through it in your blender to produce a fine powder, not sure if that will change the amounts you use in recipes though.)

I will be using this recipe a lot!

Whole Grain Waffles – makes 5 waffles

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I used fine-stone ground whole wheat flour)

1/2 cup oatmeal (I used quick cooking oats)

2 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 cup milk

1 T oil

1 egg

Mix dry ingredients together.  Whisk milk, oil and egg in separate bowl until starting to foam.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients and mix just until combined.

Cook your waffles per your waffle iron’s instructions.

Recipe from Bobbi – Picture from allrecipes.com

 

Leave a Reply

