Kats’ Kitchen

TGIFriday’s Pecan Crusted Chicken Salad October 25, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes,Salad — stacielk @ 1:52 am
Tags: , , , ,

This is a recipe I have had FOREVER and never got around to making it, until now!  I love TGIFriday’s Pecan Crusted Chicken Salad.  For starters, I love pecans, especially in waffles!  So that is probably why I enjoy this salad so much.  The result was great!  Besides of course forgetting to grab some blue cheese while I was at the grocery store…a little bummed but the salad was still tasty without that tang of blue cheese. I will be make it again!  The recipe came from Recipegoldmine.com.

Pecan Crusted Chicken Salad – serves 2-4 (I made 1/4 this recipe because I was the only one eating it, besides my daughter sneaking some craisins.  1/4 was PLENTY for me, very filling, the original recipe says it makes 2 salads, maybe my chicken was larger than 4 ounces…)

Chicken :
4 (4 ounce) chicken breasts
3 cups chopped pecans
2 cups flour
3 large eggs
1 ounce milk

Glazed Pecans:
1 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon water

Salad:
1 head romaine lettuce
1/4 cup balsamic vinaigrette dressing
1 can mandarin oranges
1/2 cup craisins

Chicken breasts: Mix 2 cups pecans with 1-cup flour and pulsate in Cuisinart or robot coupe.

Mix eggs and milk for batter.

Place leftover flour in one bowl, egg batter in second bowl, and pecan flour in third bowl. Coat chicken first in flour, then in egg batter and third in pecan flour. Sauté chicken breasts in vegetable oil over medium heat until browned on both sides. Bake chicken breasts in oven at 350 degrees F for 7 to 8 minutes or until fully cooked, cool and slice.

Glazed pecans: Mix chopped pecans with brown sugar and water and heat, set aside.

Salad: Toss romaine lettuce with glazed pecans, balsamic vinaigrette, mandarin oranges, craisins and bleu cheese crumbles, Top with sliced chicken.

Yield: 2 salads

Recipe from recipegoldmine.com

 

Leave a comment