Kats’ Kitchen

Carrot Cake Oatmeal October 11, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast — stacielk @ 1:53 am
Tags: , , , ,

I can’t believe I’ve generally been eating the same 2 breakfasts for almost 3 years!  I think it’s time for a change.  My usual go-to breakfasts are old fashioned oats cooked in water with raisins and walnuts and drizzled with honey to sweeten, cinnamon and a bit of milk for creaminess.  The other, I call it a fruit and yogurt parfait:  Any type of fruit in the house (banana, strawberry, peaches, blueberries, etc.), cut up with yogurt on top and cheerios mixed in.  Yum, love that one especially in the summer!  Last week I’ve decided those two are getting old so I went on a search for something new.  Something yummy but still healthy.  I don’t know about you but I love to start my day with something good for me.  I feel more energized and don’t get a slump mid-morning.  May sound lame, sorry.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love the breakfast breads/muffins, etc., but when I do make those, I make them a mid-morning snack.

This oatmeal turned out great!  I don’t need a ton of sweetness in my oatmeal, so it was perfect for me.  You may need to add a bit of sugar to your liking.  I made the recipe exactly as is.  The only thing I would possibly change next time is omit the apples and add more carrots.  I’m not a huge fan of the sour/tartness in the oatmeal.  I actually liked it better the next day, the tartness didn’t seem as strong.

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

4 cups water

1 cup steel-cut oats

1 apple – peeled, cored and chopped

1/2 cup shredded carrot

1/2 cup raisins

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 pinch salt

1 tablespoon butter

3/4 cup chopped pecans

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1/2 cup plain yogurt

Bring water to a boil in a heavy, large saucepan, and stir in the oats. Reduce heat to a simmer, and cook oats until they begin to thicken, about 10 minutes; mix in the apple, carrot, raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and salt. Let the oats simmer until tender, about 20 more minutes.

While the oats are simmering, melt butter in a skillet over medium-low heat, and stir in the pecans. Toast the nuts until fragrant and lightly browned, 2 to 5 minutes, then sprinkle with brown sugar and stir until sugar has melted and coated the pecans.

Serve in bowls, each topped with about 2 tablespoons of the pecan mixture and a dollop of yogurt.

(Reheat leftovers in microwave and stir in a bit of milk to your liking.)

Recipe from Allrecipes.com

 

Leave a Reply

