Kats’ Kitchen

French Breakfast Puffs October 5, 2011

Filed under: Bread,Breakfast — stacielk @ 1:28 am
Tags: , , , ,

As Rachael Ray would say YUM-O!  I knew these were going to be good the second my husband opened the container of ‘puffs’ (I call them muffins) and the first word that came out of his mouth was “Yum”.  And that they were.  We heated them for about 5-7 seconds in the microwave (we have a strong microwave) and they were delicious.  Nice and light with a taste of nutmeg on the inside and a wonderful cinnamon and sugar coating on the outside.  Worth making again and again!

French Breakfast Puffs (Makes 12 muffins — or in my case I halved the recipe and made 7)

3 c flour

3 tsp baking pwd

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1 cup sugar

2/3 cup shortening (I used margarine)

2 eggs

1 c milk

Preheat oven to 350 and grease 12 muffin cups.  Stir flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg in a bowl and set aside.

In your mixer cream sugar and shortening (as said above, I used margarine and they turned out great!).  Add eggs and mix again.  Alternate adding one-third of flour and on-third milk to creamed mixture beating well after each addition.

Fill muffin cups two-thirds full.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden.  Remove from pan and set aside.

Sugar coating:  2 sticks butter, 1 1/2 cups sugar & 3 tsp ground cinnamon

Melt butter in a bowl or glass pan.  Combine sugar and cinnamon in separate container.  Dip the warm muffins in the butter coating thoroughly.  Roll in the cinnamon sugar mixture coating them with the sugar mixture also thoroughly.

Puffs can be frozen in plastic bags (if they last that long) and reheated later.

Recipe from The Pioneer Woman Cooks

DON’T FORGET ABOUT MY GIVEAWAY FROM THE PREVIOUS POST, YOU HAVE 3 MORE DAYS!!!

 

One Response to “French Breakfast Puffs”

  1. Bobbi Says:

    Yum is right! I am glad you said they heated well in the micro, cause I had just gotten done with breakfast when I read this~ so really shouldn’t have been thinking about “muffins” BUT I LOVE muffins so I did think about them and I did make them! (For tomorrow OF COURSE and maybe a snack……) Maybe it is the dutch in me, but they reminded me of Ollie Bollen! Thinking raisins might be a good addition, though my kids might not agree and why mess with something so yummy. I did use shortening cause I forgot that you used marg. till right now, and it did turn out like a puff! (Oh and I did not use all the butter~ maybe I did not coat them enough.) Great picture.


Leave a Reply

