Kats’ Kitchen

Homemade Basil Pesto August 15, 2011

Filed under: Appetizer,Main Dishes — stacielk @ 1:28 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Wow, this pesto is amazing!!!  Thanks to my garden, which is producing a nice basil plant, I hope to make and freeze a ton of this stuff to be able to eat it through the winter, that is how good it is.

I made basil pesto a couple years back and I think I remember it being a bit too garlicky (prob my fault not the recipe).  I found this recipe in the June 2011 issue of Family Circle.  I bought the ingredients I didn’t have in the house, went to my garden to pick the basil and went to it.

Basil Pesto

1/2 cup pistachio nuts

2 cups fresh basil

1/2 cup spinach leaves (my addition)

2 garlic cloves

Process above for one minute.  Mix in:

1/2 cup olive oil (a little more if using spinach)

until incorporated.  Add:

2/3 cup grated Parmesan

3/4 tsp salt

Process until blended.

(Serving suggestion:  toss 1/2 cup pesto with 1 lb cooked spaghetti and 1/2 cup pasta water)

I first used the basil spread on some toasted bread and topped with fresh garden tomatoes and a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese.  So delicious that my 16-month old daughter climbed up onto my lap, took one bite and then ended up eating the rest of my lunch… :(  I’m totally serious, that’s exactly what happened, I tried to get a bite here and there when I could…besides being a cowgirl when she grows up, I think she may be a food snob too…I’d be ok with that :)

I then used it with some store-bought gnocchi and grilled chicken (thanks to my husband).  I must admit, I went to look for gnocchi recipes to make homemade but then chickened out when I saw some reviews and heard that it’s not the easiest thing to make…if you have an easy recipe that you’ve had success with, please share!  The Pesto Chicken Gnocchi was also delicious, but I’d have to say out of the two, the tomato basil on toast is the winner.  Mmmm…can’t wait to have it again!

 

Leave a Reply

