Kats’ Kitchen

Vegged-Up Oatmeal Cookies August 2, 2011

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 6:26 am
Tags: , , ,

I found this recipe in the August 2011 issue of EveryDay Rachael Ray.  In the picture they provide, it seems like they should be a bit flatter and crunchy.  My cookies ended up a little fluffier and almost cake-ier.  I followed the recipe to a T except making the cookies a little smaller than the recommended 1/4 cup of dough per cookie and didn’t fill them with cream cheese–ok so not quite to the T.  I would describe these cookies as a mix between an oatmeal raisin cookie and zucchini bread, you get the mixture of flavors in it.  My daughter LOVES them, they are soft enough for her since she doesn’t have all her teeth yet.  They are a bit crumbly when you break them apart in small pieces, like I do for her, but I’ve enjoyed a few of the cookies also and they stay together fine.

I should also mention I did use old fashioned oats, which I thought were the same thing as rolled oats…but I  may be wrong and that may be why the cookies turned out different than I expected.  Do you know the difference b/t these two oats?

<Rachael’s Cookies       My Cookies>

Vegged-Up Oatmeal Cookies

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

6 oz. room-temperature butter

3/4 cup light brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

3 cups rolled oats

1 packed cup shredded zucchini

3/4 cup raisins

3/4 cup whipped cream cheese

In bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.  Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugars at high speed until fluffy, 5 minutes.  Beat in egg at medium speed, then flour mixture.  Stir in oats, zucchini and raisins; let sit for 30 minutes.  Bake 1/4 cupfuls on 2 parchment-lined baking sheets at 350°, switching pans halfway through, until golden, 15 to 17 minutes.  Cool; sandwich each with scant tbsp. cream cheese.

Recipe from August 2011 EveryDay with Rachael Ray

 

Leave a Reply

