Kats’ Kitchen

Beer Can Chicken July 18, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 4:01 pm
Tags: , ,

Do you like to grill in the summer?  We sure do (although we do grill year-round).  Well, here is a super easy fun way to cook a chicken, you may have heard it before and tried it, or haven’t tried it yet but you should soon!  It’s called Beer Can Chicken.  It’s as easy as buying a chicken, cleaning, drying, oiling seasoning and setting it on a half can of beer and throwing it on the grill till it is cooked through around 160-170ish I believe.  That’s the only hard part…when is it done?  It looks nice and toasted brown on the outside but is it cooked all the way through to the bone?  That’s when a thermometer is usually good to have handy.  We seasoned ours with garlic salt, Italian seasoning and lawry’s, but try your fav seasonings, I’m sure there are many varieties that will turn out as tasty as ours!

And a side note, I did buy a beer can chicken tray a few years back, so we can throw veggies on to the grill tray underneath during the last part of the chicken cooking.  It’s also nice b/c the chicken seems a bit sturdier than if you just put it on the can.  I think the investment was worth it!

 

3 Responses to “Beer Can Chicken”

  1. Lynn Says:

    Love this…
    We too purchased a can holder for the grill. A double one, so we do two!
    Excellent summer dinner, and the chicken makes great leftovers for salads and sandwiches.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Lynn

  2. Bobbi Says:

    Yum! Looks great, I NEED to try this! So you just use a chicken and put in on a beer can, cook on low? hour, couple hours? Sounds easy. I like the idea of the tray that cooks the veggies/ potatoes , something I have never seen. Did you get it from somewhere like target? Or more of a specialty place?

  3. stacielk Says:

    Our chicken took around 2 hours – it was an oven-stuffer, one with lots of meat, an 8 pound one. If you had a 4 pounder my guess is it would take closer to 1-1 1/2 hours. I got the tray from either TJMaxx or Marshalls a while back. You may be able to get one at bed bath and beyond or target even but I can’t say that fore sure…if I see one out there, I’ll let you know. If you want to search on-line first I think it’s called a “Beer Can Chicken Roaster”. Let me know how it goes if you try it!


Leave a Reply

