Kats’ Kitchen

Carrot Apple Coconut Muffins April 30, 2011

Filed under: Bread,Breakfast — stacielk @ 1:05 am
Tags: , , ,

Thanks to Weelicious for this recipe.  My daughter LOVED these muffins!  I made them on Wednesday at the same time as I was cooking my soup and she gobbled 2 up that day and would have probably had more if I let her.  As a baker I have a real hard time buying processed foods, muffins, cookies, etc. from the grocery store, so whenever I find recipes like this I like to give them a try because I know exactly what is going into the baked good. Don’t get me wrong, I do buy snacks, gold fish, cheerios, etc. for her, I am not against buying stuff like that but I figured if I can make them at home for half the price and know what is going into her mouth, why not!

I’ve had one myself and my daughter is not the only one who thinks they are good.  They are not too sweet and super moist and tender.  I threw some in a freezer bag for another week and am keeping the rest in my fridge to snack on for the remainder of the week.

Carrot, Apple & Coconut Muffins

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

2 carrots, peeled & grated, about 1 cup

1 apple, peeled & grated, about 1/2 cup

2 large eggs

1/3 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil

1/2 cup honey

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine the first 7 ingredients in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.  Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet and stir to combine.  Place 1 T of batter into greased mini muffin tins.  Bake for 15 minutes.

Recipe from Weelicious

 

Leave a Reply

