Kats’ Kitchen

March’s Daring Baker’s Challenge! March 27, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,cake — stacielk @ 1:30 am
Tags: , , , ,

The March 2011 Daring Baker’s Challenge was hosted by Ria of Ria’s Collection and Jamie of Life’s a Feast. Ria and Jamie challenged The Daring Bakers to bake a yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake.

When I went to the Daring Baker’s website to check out what the challenge was this month I was pumped.  One, because I had all the ingredients and tools in my house and two, I haven’t done a challenge in a while…and knew I was going to this month!  So the next day I went ahead and started at it.  The Meringue Coffee Cake turned out to be a pretty simple baked good to make.  It did involve a little bit of time and skill between the dough rising and baking but overall it wasn’t to difficult.  I made Jamie’s version with the sweet filling. I didn’t have dark chocolate so used semi-sweet, which was probably a bit sweet for a morning breakfast, but still yummy!

As the instructions say, it is best eaten the same day it is baked so I guess I would suggest putting it together the day before and baking the next morning if you want it for a morning treat.  Otherwise you’d have to wake up at the crack of dawn.  If you don’t eat it the same day, I’d suggest refrigerating it and maybe microwaving it just slightly before serving.

You can find the recipe at either Ria of Ria’s Collection and Jamie of Life’s a Feast.

 

Leave a Reply

