Kats’ Kitchen

Feta Chicken Salad February 16, 2011

Filed under: Main Dishes,Salad — stacielk @ 6:29 pm

I’ve made two different Chicken Salad recipes in the last couple weeks.  They were both pretty different and yet both very good!  This first one came from Allrecipes.com.  I had some feta cheese I wanted to use up and that is how I chose this one.  Pretty clever huh?  Feta is not a very common ingredient in my house.  I’ve been using it on top of my Pear and Walnut Salad I posted about a few posts back but I recently tried Goat Cheese instead and I prefer that on my salad.  They have pretty different tastes.  Is there any recipes you make that calls for Feta or Goat cheese?  If so, I’d love to hear about them!

Oh yes, and my fav way to have chicken salad is on top of a piece of toast — especially a piece of homemade french bread made right in my own kitchen.  Pitas are great too!  I recently discovered those little pockets again, they are a nice chance from your normal sandwich, especially for those who take sandwiches to work/school daily.  You need a change, buy some pita pockets!

Come back again and I’ll share the other chicken salad recipe with ya!  If you’ve ever heard of Butterfingers here in Northwest Indiana, you might like to have this recipe!  I also have to share with you my meatballs and marinara that I pictured below sometime real soon before spring/summer hit and all you’ll want to do is grill!

Feta Chicken Salad

3 cups diced cooked chicken

2 large stalks celery, diced

1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced

1/2 red onion, diced

6 T mayonnaise

6 T sour cream

1-4 oz pkg feta cheese, crumbled

2 tsp dried dill weed

1 pinch salt and pepper, to taste

In a serving bowl, mix together the chicken, celery and red onion.  In a separate bowl, stir together the mayo, sour cream, feta cheese and dill.  Pour over the chicken mixture and stir to blend.  Taste and season with salt and pepper as needed.  Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to serve.

Recipe from Allrecipes.com

 

Leave a Reply

