Kats’ Kitchen

Saltine Toffee December 9, 2010

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 1:31 am
Tags: , , , ,

This recipe came from the Chicago Tribune.  It was super easy to put together and make.  The only thing that I had an issue with was the cutting.  It instructs to slice into squares and then cut those in triangles when you remove them from the freezer.  Well, my toffee was not going to let me slice it.  I ended up breaking it into pieces with my  hands.  I guess it makes for a more rustic look.  If you wanted perfect triangular toffee, my suggestion would be slicing the toffee at room temperature.

Saltine Toffee

1 cup butter

35 saltine crackers

1 cup packed dark brown sugar

1 pkg (12 oz) semi-sweet chocolate  chips

1 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Line a 10×15 inch rimmed baking heet with parchment paper, allowing for some overhang.  Melt butter in a large saucepan.  Brush parchment with a little butter.  Line up crackers on buttered parchment, touching but not overlapping.

Whisk brown sugar into remaining butter.  Set over medium-high heat.  Bring to a boil; boil thick, 2 minutes (or 248 degrees).  Pour evenly over crackers.

Slide into a 400 degree oven and bake until brown and bubbly, 10 minutes.  Carefiully remove from oven.

Scatter molten surface with chocolate chips.  let melt 5 minutes.  Use an offset spatula to spread chocolate.  Cast on nuts; gently press into chocolate.  Freeze until firm, 30 minutes.

Lift parchment by its overhang and set toffee (paper and all) on a cutting surface.  Slice into 18 squares, then into 36 triangles.  (Like I said earlier, good luck with the slicing)

Serve at room temperature.  Enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Saltine Toffee”

  1. crustabakes Says:

    Well rustic look or not, these look absolutely delicious!

  2. Bobbi Says:

    have you even used margarine for these?? I just did…..and they did not harden up!

  3. Bobbi Says:

    So I just made another batch CAUSE I could not walk away from it wondering what I messed up with. WELL I used margarine AGAIN and……IT WORKED. I know butter is better I am sure, but that is not what I had and it still tastes yummy! I boiled it 3 minutes though this time, that probably helped a bit too. I know this is a Holiday treat ~ but I really don’t follow those rules, I make fudge in the summer sometimes too. Strange but true.


Leave a Reply

