Kats’ Kitchen

Christmas Cookies December 6, 2010

Filed under: cookies — stacielk @ 1:49 am

How many different Christmas cookies are you making this year?  Me…probably more than I really need to make.  Unfortunately I don’t have co-workers I can take them to on a regular basis anymore like I’ve done in the past, although I’m sure BKS wouldn’t mind if I stopped in to say hi with the little one of course with some cookies in hand.

I made these cookies a while back, before I was married.  They are called Santa’s Snickers Surprises.  I cut the recipe out of a magazine and taped it to a recipe card but haven’t made them since.  I was at my sis-in-laws this past weekend and she made similar cookies but with Rollo candies. Yum!

My first batch of Christmas cookies for the season:


Santa’s Snickers Surprises

2 sticks butter, softened

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 cup light brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

3 1/2 cups all purpose flour, sifted (oops forgot to sift, still turned out fine)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 pkg-13 oz-Snicker Miniatures (I used fun size cut in half)

Dark or milk chocolate chips to drizzle

Combine the butter, peanut butter and sugars using a mixer on a medium to low speed until light and fluffy.

Slowly add eggs and vanilla until thoroughly combined.  Then mix in flour, salt and baking soda

Cover and chill dough for 2-3 hours.

Unwrap all snickers miniatures

Remove dough from refrigerator.  Divide into 1 T pieces and flatten

Place a snickers in the center of each piece of dough

Form the dough into a ball around each snickers.

Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 325 for 10-12 minutes.  (Cooking time may be longer if you use more than 1 T of dough per cookie)

Let cookies cool on a baking rack or wax paper.

Melt chips in microwave and drizzle over cookies.

Recipes says it makes 2 dozen but I think it makes more like 4-5 dozen if you only use 1 T of dough per cookie.

 

Leave a Reply

