Kats’ Kitchen

Canning October 5, 2010

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets,Uncategorized — stacielk @ 8:15 pm


I’ve never done any canning myself, until this past weekend when Amy, over at Amy’s Aliments taught me and a few other friends how to do it!

We made:

Mango Jam

Strawberry Jam

Caramel Apple Jam…and

Chocolate Raspberry Sundae Topper

all in 5 hours!!!  We were pretty exhausted by the end of the night, but it was well worth it and we each got to take home a decent amount of each of the canned jams.

Do I have a favorite out of all four…I can’t really say since I haven’t tried the Strawberry Jam yet.  They all have their own distinct flavor because of the certain fruit that we used, and I love any kind of fruit, so in the end, I probably won’t favor one over the other myself.

Most of the recipes came from on-line sources.  I will give you the links below.  The Mango Jam came from an International Cookbook I received from Christian Reformed World Missions.  The recipe for that one is also below.

Do can stuff for your family or for gifts?  If so, what do you can?  I’d love to hear what your favorites are!


Strawberry Jam

Caramel Apple Jam

Chocolate Raspberry Sundae Topper

Mango Jam

2 quarts mango, chopped (about 10 medium-sized mangos)

2 cups pineapple, chopped (2 cups drained canned crushed pineapple)

4 Tbsp lemon juice

8 cups sugar

Boil together mango, pineapple and juice.  Mash or blend together.  Add sugar and boil on low heat for 30-45 minutes, stirring often.  It should look transparent and glossy and the spoon will leave a path as you stir.

Pour into scalded glass jars and seal with wax.

Recipe from International Cuisine…from the Ends of the Earth (CRWM)

If you need more detailed instructions on how to can, check out the Ball website.

 

2 Responses to “Canning”

  1. alenting Says:

    Yay! So much fun. Thanks for taking such great pics, Stacie! :)

  2. ingrid Says:

    Fun! I wish I had some canning buddies.
    ~ingrid


Leave a Reply

