Kats’ Kitchen

Symphony Bars August 18, 2010

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , ,

When trying to decide what to bake the other day, I was looking through my school/church cookbooks and found this recipe.  After reading the ingredients and how to make them, I decided to go for it, and I’m glad I did!  They are brownie type bars with lots of walnuts!  They are in between the fudgey and cakey type of bar…not sure what the exact word to describe them would be, maybe I’ll think of it.

My question is…why are they called Symphony Bars?  They don’t have any Hershey’s Symphony Bars in them, which I just discovered when I went on an internet search.  Maybe they are supposed to taste like those bars.  I may just have to pick one up next time I’m grocery shopping.

I found a bunch of brownies on other food blogs that are called “Symphony Bars” but they are quiet a bit different then this recipe that I used…those look super good too.

Anyway, back to my Symphony Bar recipe.  This one was pretty quick and easy to make.  You split the batter in half and make one-half chocolate.  I love this frosting, I made it here before but didn’t whip it long enough.  This time I was patient and let it whip for 5 minutes as the recipe said, and it turned out great!

Symphony Bars

1/2 cup butter

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup sifted flour (sift before measuring, I just realized this may be why mine are a touch dry)

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 oz melted baking chocolate

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Cream butter, gradually add sugar and beat until light and fluffy.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  Sift together flour and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture.  Blend in nuts.  Divide in half.  Add chocolate to one half and spread white layer in bottom of 8×8 inch buttered pan.  Then spread chocolate layer on top.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Cool in pan on rack.

Frosting:

2 1/2 T flour

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

In heavy saucepan blend flour and milk.  Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until paste thickens.  Cool thoroughly.  Cream butter, sugar and vanilla in small mixer bowl.  Gradually add paste and beat at high speed for 5 minutes or until frosting is creamy.  Frost cooled bars, cut and enjoy!

Recipe from “Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor” Protestant Reformed Christian School

 

Leave a Reply

