Kats’ Kitchen

Homemade Bread in 5 minutes… March 6, 2010

Filed under: Bread — stacielk @ 6:45 am
Tags: , ,

Sounds kind of fishy, doesn’t it?  Well, I’ve tried it and it’s true!  All that needs to be done is mix water, yeast, salt and flour one day – which takes about 5 minutes, let it rise 2 hours or so and leave it in your fridge until you’re ready to bake some homemade bread! 

On baking day, the hands on work takes just about 5 minutes while the rising, oven reheating and cooling obviously takes longer than that.  But my husband and I were impressed with the outcome.  I used the master recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day, which you can find here along with other great tips and recipes throughout the site.  (Check out that Cinnamon Swirl French Toast, I think the Brioche is going to be my next 5-minute dough I’ll attempt so I can make some of this french toast.)

I have a lot of experimenting and messing around to do yet.  The two loaves I’ve made so far I haven’t dusted the ‘pizza paddle’ (cookie sheet) enough so it ended up sticking when trying to gently slid it in the oven – I ended up with odd-shaped loaves.  They also ended up a bit more moist then I expected, possibly due to the screwup with the pizza paddle sticking.  So, even though we were impressed and enjoyed every bite of the bread with dinner, I still feel I can improve with my 5-minute a day bread making skills.

 

One Response to “Homemade Bread in 5 minutes…”

  1. Juliana Says:

    I already bookmarked the site…will definitely try to make bread using this technique…thanks!


Leave a Reply

