Kats’ Kitchen

Stromboli Sandwiches January 5, 2010

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 4:50 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Unfortunately I don’t have a picture for this post.  The sandwiches looked and smelled too good to ‘quick get a picture’ before giving them a try.  As I was making this recipe, I thought to myself “this reminds me a lot of making bbqs”, and then I was thinking “I’m not a big fan of bbqs…”, but I think knowing the meat was going on a type of roll instead of the hamburger bun and with the added butter/garlic/paprika spread and mozzarella cheese layered on top, I didn’t hesitate to continue on. 

Do you want to know what I thought of the end result?  It was delicious!  I loved it and think this is a great recipe to make for dinner and freeze leftovers for later (the meat off the bun), or make to feed a number of people at once on a budget.  In other words, this recipe is staying in my recipe box.  Give it a try for yourself, I bet your family would love it!

Stromboli Sandwiches

1 lb. ground beef

1 tsp minced onion

1/2 cup tomato sauce

1/2 cup catsup

2 Tbsp grated parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp fennel seed

1/8 tsp oregano

1 pkgs Tiebels rolls, sm pepperidge farm buns or other small to med size firm rolls

2 Tbsp soft butter

1/4 tsp garlic salt

1/4 tsp paprika

1 pkg slice mozarella cheese (or shredded)

Fry ground beef and onion until browned; drained off excess fat.  Add tomato sauce, ketchup, parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, fennel seed and oregano.  Simmer 20 minutes.  Mix butter with 1/4 tsp garlic salt and paprika.  Spread on top half of buns.  Spoon meat mixture on bottom half and top with cheese.  Wrap in tin foil and bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes.

Recipe from Jamie R.’s Mom

 

3 Responses to “Stromboli Sandwiches”

  1. Amy Says:

    This is our go-to for confession of faith “parties”. Easy for a Sunday night because almost everything can be done earlier. :)

  2. Jamie Reitsma Says:

    Stace,
    I subscribe to your page so I get updates when you add new recipes. As I read this one, I thought hey! my mom makes those. Then I saw the tag on the bottom that the recipe is from my mom. Too funny! I’m glad you liked the stromboli – they are one of my faves. :)

  3. CookiePie Says:

    Those sound like some pretty serious sandwiches! Delish!


Leave a Reply

