Kats’ Kitchen

Caramel Cheerio Squares December 9, 2009

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 3:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Are you looking for a treat for your kids that will fit in your budget and that has some kind of health benefit?  I think you came to the right place.  I made these and decided that they would be a perfect after school snack.

I’ll be honest and tell you they do contain sugar — what snack doesn’t?  But the main ingredient is Cheerios.  Do you know of all the health benefits of Cheerios?  Check them out for yourself:  Cheerios.   Although, then I ran across this link.  I guess everything in moderation.

As for budget-friendly.  You won’t be able to run to the store today and get everything at a reasonable price (unless you’re lucky) but if you think ahead and watch for sales, you’d be surprised how much you can save.  For more info on that check out Mummy Deals

I bought my caramels after Halloween for 75% off, my marshmallows somewhere for less than $1 and my Cheerios super cheap during some sale probably with some coupons (I stocked up on those!).

When I would make these bars again, I would probably eliminate the chocolate drizzle and chocolate coated candies.  I didn’t have the minis, so I chopped up the normal-size M&Ms.  I don’t think the bars really need that added sugar :)

Do you have a budget-friendly recipe that is geared toward getting some health benefits into your family?  Let me know about them!

 Caramel Crisp Bars

 6 cups Cheerios® cereal

 1 bag (14 oz) caramels

3 tablespoons water

2 cups miniature marshmallows

¼ cup miniature semisweet candy-coated chocolate candies for baking

Glaze:

1/4 cup semisweet or milk chocolate chips

2 teaspoons shortening

Butter 13×9-inch pan. Into large bowl, measure cereal. In medium microwavable bowl, microwave caramels and water uncovered on High 2 1/2 to 4 minutes, stirring after each minute, until smooth. Pour over cereal; gently stir until well coated. Add marshmallows; gently stir. Press evenly in pan, using buttered back of spoon

In small microwavable bowl, microwave glaze ingredients uncovered on Medium (50%) about 1 minute or until mixture can be stirred smooth; drizzle over bars.

Sprinkle bars with candies. Refrigerate about 1 hour or until bars are firm and glaze is set. For bars, cut into 9 rows by 4 rows. Store loosely covered.

Serving: Calories 90 (Calories from Fat 20); Total Fat 2g (Saturated Fat 1g, Trans Fat 0g); Cholesterol 0mg; Sodium 65mg; Total Carbohydrate 16g (Dietary Fiber 0g, Sugars 8g); Protein 1g

Recipe from Cheerios.com

 

3 Responses to “Caramel Cheerio Squares”

  1. ingrid Says:

    Even if you hadnt mentioned leaving out the chocolate I would have on my own as I really don’t care for it. I have to admit it does look pretty with the chocolate.
    ~ingrid

  2. Shannon Coglianese Says:

    can you freeze these and take them out at a later date?

  3. stacielk Says:

    I’ve never tried to freeze them, so I really don’t know…it’s worth a try though, I freeze just about everything that I know won’t get eaten before it goes bad. I think the only thing would be is the squares may end up softer and not crunchy when you first make them.


Leave a Reply

