Kats’ Kitchen

Crockpot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes October 26, 2009

Filed under: Side Dish — stacielk @ 1:42 am
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever made mashed potatoes in your crockpot?  I haven’t…up until now, and I think I’m going to do it again and again.  I found this recipe at A Recipe a Day by Nancy.  Super quick, super easy.  I started my Sunday morning chopping up the potatoes and garlic and tossing them into the crockpot.  After church, I started mashing and adding the remaining ingredients and kept them hot in the crockpot until dinner time.  The family loved these.  My husband mentioned that he felt like he was eating at an up-scale restaurant when he ate them, along with one of his favorites, blackened bone-in pork chop.  Hey, it was his birthday, he deserved a good dinner!

I doubled the below recipe and the potatoes fed 8 adults plus about 4-5 more servings of leftovers.

Crockpot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes

3 lbs red potatoes

4 garlic cloves, minced

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup cream cheese with chives and onions (from 8 oz tub)

1/4-1/2 cup milk – I used full amount, don’t want those potatoes too dry, although you don’t want them runny either…

Halve or quarter potatoes as necessary to make similar size pieces.  Place in a 4 to 6 quart crockpot.  Ad garlic, oil, salt and water; mix well to coat all potato pieces.  Cover and cook on high for 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 hours or until potato pieces are tender.

With a fork or potato masher, mash potatoes and garlic.  Stir in cream cheese until well blended.  Stir in enough milk for soft serving consistency.

Serve immediately, or cover and hold in slow cooker on low for up to 2 hours.

Save any leftovers and reheat in the microwave the next day, adding milk if needed.

Serves 4-6

Recipe from Nancy at A Recipe a Day

***I’m very hesitant to put up a picture of these potatoes ONLY because I took them when they were cold, they look kind of dryish in the picture, and that’s why you add more milk when you reheat the leftovers!***

Potatoes

 

One Response to “Crockpot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes”

  1. Amy Says:

    Hey Stacie –

    Just wanted to let you know that I tried this and the fam liked it. I feel like they really sucked up the milk though… did yours? I think I could have gone for more garlic too. :)


Leave a comment