Kats’ Kitchen

Italian Cream Cake September 27, 2009

Filed under: cake — stacielk @ 4:58 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This cake is delicious!  It is so moist and lasts for at least 4 days without loosing any of the moistness!  Everyone who I got to share this cake with loved it.  The cake itself wasn’t real sweet, but the frosting, which was very sweet, complimented it perfectly.

I really hesitate to tell people what I would change about a recipe, because then I think some of you may not believe me how good it really is.  But I think with almost every recipe, I could make one or two changes to try to make it even better.  With this cake, the only thing I would do is cut the amount of powdered sugar in the frosting.  I think that’s what made the frosting so extremely sweet, unless of course I would cut the amount of frosting I put on the cake, if that’s what I decide, I think the sweetness in the cake would be balanced nicely.

The recipe came from The Pioneer Woman.  She hasn’t actually made this cake to date, but it sounded like she was going to in the future.  She received the cake (and recipe) from a member of her church.

Billie’s Italian Cream CakeItalian Cream Cake

Cake:

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp baking soda

1 stick butter

1  cup vegetable oil

2 cups sugar

5 eggs, separated

3 tsp vanilla

1 cup flaked coconut

1 tsp baking powder

2 cups all purpose flour

Frosting:

2 8-oz pkgs cream cheese

1 stick butter

2 tsp vanilla

1 2-lb pkgs powdered sugar

1 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted)

1 cup sweetened, flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Directions:

Grease and flour three 9-inch road cake pans.

Beat egg whites until stiff, set aside.

Cake:

In a large bowl, cream together butter, oil and sugar until light and fluffy.  Mix in the egg yolks, vanilla and coconut.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking soda and baking powder.

Alternate adding buttermilk and dry ingredients to wet ingredients.

Mix until just combined, then fold in egg whites.

Pour evenly into the three prepared pans, then sprinkle the top of each pan with 1 Tbsp sugar.

Bake in a preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out  clean.

Remove from oven and allow to cool for 15 minutes, then turn the cakes out onto cooling racks and allow to cool completely.

Frosting:

In a medium bowl, combine cream cheese, butter, vanilla and powdered sugar.  Beat until light and fluffy.  Stir in chopped walnuts and sugared coconut.  Spread between layers and serve.

Recipe from The Pioneer Woman

 

4 Responses to “Italian Cream Cake”

  1. peabody Says:

    Looks so moist and wonderful. Gorgeous cake.

  2. ingrid Says:

    I saw this and wanted it over at PW’s blog. Now I want it even MORE! Yours looks perfect!
    ~ingrid

  3. Juliana Says:

    This cake looks delicious, very moist…I really would like a bite of it :-)

  4. kay kendrick Says:

    This is very moist looking. All it needs is a hot cup of coffee. I will fix this to take to my homecoming.


Leave a Reply

