Kats’ Kitchen

August’s Daring Baker’s Challenge – Dobos Torte August 27, 2009

Dobos Torte

The August 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Angela of A Spoonful of Sugar and Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella. They chose the spectacular Dobos Torte based on a recipe from Rick Rodgers’ cookbook Kaffeehaus:  Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Caffés of Vienna, Budapest, and Prague.

That’s right, a Dobos Torte, which is a five-layer sponge cake filled with chocolate buttercream and topped with caramel covered wedges.  Sounds good, doesn’t it? 

I made this torte for my brother-in-law’s birthday.  His birthday is August 29, so I had to patiently wait till the end of the month for him and my sister to travel from Nigeria to celebrate his birthday  before making it.  Hopefully they thought the torte was worth the trip.

I made the torte layers according to the recipe.  I used a buttercream recipe I found at Joy the Baker (The second recipe).  One that doesn’t call for eggs.  I also substituted the hazelnuts with pecans.  I wish I could give you my opinion on the torte right now, but I can’t because I haven’t tried it yet (although I can tell you the buttercream is very tasty!).  The party isn’t till Saturday…

If you want the recipe, head on over to Angela’s or Lorraine’s where you can find very detailed step-by-step directions.

Dobo Torte

**Update** Well, the cake was good!  The numerous buttercream layers made it very sweet, I prefer thicker ‘cake’ layers in my desserts with buttercream, but  the challenge was fun and something I would never have made on my own.

 

4 Responses to “August’s Daring Baker’s Challenge – Dobos Torte”

  1. Holly Says:

    Congrats on finishing the challenge. Nice job!

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Mmmm, pecans . . . Nice job. Your Dobos Torte looks great.

  3. lisamichele Says:

    Thicker layers? Come take a look at my mammoth layered ‘first’ Dobos. I wish I had made them a bit thinner! That said, your Dobos looks and sounds wonderful, I especially like the pecans in lieu of the hazelnuts..a totally different twist and flavor. Oh, your sugar swirls are great too!

  4. Megan Says:

    Gorgeous torte! Love the way yours came out!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers