Kats’ Kitchen

Bakewell Tart June 27, 2009

Bakewell Tart 2

I had a really hard time turning on the oven in this 90+ degree weather Wednesday night, but I knew it was then or never for this month’s Daring Baker’s Challenge.  I didn’t think the tart would be difficult at all, so I decided to go for it and make our air conditioning work a little harder than it should have.

Was it worth it…yes and no.  I will say yes because it was the challenge for this month, I’ve never made a tart and I didn’t want to miss out on another challenge in case I can’t get next month’s completed and possibly get kicked out of the group…I should really figure out how many more I can skip without getting booted.  I also say no because with the extremely warm weather, this tart just did not sound appetizing, but that’s ok :)

As you can see in the picture, my tart turned out pretty well.  I screwed up the crust, and knew it as I was making it.  It turned out too tough, I ended up having to add more water then the recipe calls for, which means I had to mix the dough more, I think less would have been best.  Oh well.  The taste had a nice subtly almond flavor with a nice hint of strawberry from my store-bought preserves.  I drizzled a white chocolate glaze over the top of the tart, which added a nice touch.  Would I make it again…maybe, but it’s not a dessert that I would rave about.

Do you want the recipe?  I’ll spare you the scrolling and have you check out Jasmine’s post at  Confessions of a Cardamom Addict or Annemarie’s post at Ambrosia and Nectar.

The June Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Jasmine of Confessions of a Cardamom Addict and Annemarie of Ambrosia and Nectar. They chose a Traditional (UK) Bakewell Tart… er… pudding that was inspired by a rich baking history dating back to the 1800’s in England.

 

3 Responses to “Bakewell Tart”

  1. ingrid Says:

    It does look lovely with the drizzle of white chocolate. Sorry it wasn’t quite up to snuff.
    ~ingrid

  2. isa Says:

    Looks délicious! Sorry, you did not like it!

  3. stacielk Says:

    Just wanted to clear it up that it’s not that I didn’t like the tart, I did like it, it just won’t be on the top of my list of dessert recipes to make.


Leave a Reply

