Kats’ Kitchen

Super Stuffed French Bread Pizza Rustica June 1, 2009

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 7:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Scrounging through blogs, looking for a new recipe to make, I ran across La Mia Cucnina who made Rachael Ray’s Super Stuffed French Bread Pizza Rustica.  I stopped there, made an ingredient list and ran off to the grocery store.  Well, after I went through my kitchen to pull out the ingredients I already had, so really, all I needed was little bit more ricotta and a loaf of french bread.  Not bad for the long list of ingredients!

This was a great twist to pizza burgers.  The recipe says it feeds 4, but I feed 6 plus leftovers!  It’s very filling.  Unfortunately, I forgot the leftovers at my parent’s cottage and before I could call to tell them I was on my way to get them, they were already gobbled up.  Even though I would have loved those leftovers, I’m glad they could enjoy them after unpacking from a long holiday weekend in Michigan. 

Stuffed Pizza 5

Super Stuffed French Bread Pizza Rustica

1 (2 ft) loaf french bread (I used a Vienna loaf, which was about 4 inches wide)

1 lb sweet Italian sausage

1 small red bell pepper, seeded and chopped

1 small onion, chopped

2 large cloves garlic, chopped

1 pkg frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and squeezed dry

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 cups ricotta

1/2 cup grated Parmesan

1/2 pound sweet spressata, chopped (I omitted this)

1/2 stick pepperoni, chopped (I used already sliced pepperoni)

10 oz shredded mozzarella

10 oz shredded provolone

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (I omitted)

Pizza Sauce (my addition)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Split bread lengthwise and hollow it out. 

Heat a skillet over medium high flame and brown sausage.  Brown and crumble sausage.  Add red bell pepper, onion and garlic.  Cook 3 to 5 minutes, add spinach.  Remove mixture from heat and season with a pinch of salt and black pepper to your taste.

Transfer to a bowl.  Combine sausage and veggies with ricotta, Parmesan, sopressata and pepperoni.  Fill bread shells with meat mixture (this is where I spread pizza sauce over the top and then pepporoni slices on top of that).   Mound with mozzarella and provolone cheeses.  Place in hot oven on cookie sheet and bake until cheese melts and bubbles and bread is super crisp, about 10-12 minutes.  Top pizzas with oregano and hot pepper flakes.  Serve immediately.

Recipe from Food Network
 

2 Responses to “Super Stuffed French Bread Pizza Rustica”

  1. Shelley Says:

    I made this! I followed the recipe pretty closely, and we enjoyed the pizza bread. I am adding it into our rotation~ yum-o ;)

  2. S Smith Says:

    I use this same recipe, changing practically the same things as you did, and have made it several times. Always comes out great. I always drizzle olive oil around the edges of the bread, it gives it a nice flavor and crisp edge. I also have frozen the filling and used it later. Perfect if you don’t feel like cooking!


Leave a Reply

