Kats’ Kitchen

The Blonde Brownie May 17, 2009

Filed under: Brownies/Bars & Other Sweets — stacielk @ 9:11 pm

If you’re wondering why I haven’t posted in a week, it’s because I’ve been on vaca.  Not just vacation from the blog, but out-of-town vaca, away from everyday life (work, e-mail, blog, housekeeping :)  It was nice spending time on the beach with the husband, watching sunsets & dolphins, golfing, shopping and eating out, but, that’s over now and reality is hitting me again…bummer. 

I actually made these before I left, had some in the freezer I could pull out for when we came home.  This is another favorite recipe that I remember eating and making as a kid.  The good ‘ol Blonde Brownie.  Not quite like a chocolate chip cookie, but the same in some sense. 

I think what makes these so good is the brown sugar, along with the bag of chocolate chips sprinkled over the already spread-in-the-pan batter. 

These things are hard to screw up, unless of course you are doubling or halving the recipe.  I believe I forgot an egg once, so they ended up more dense, not as brownie-like as they should of, but they were still awesome!  Give them a try yourself!

Do you have a favorite recipe you made as a kid and still make now ?  Tell me about it!blonde-brownie

Blonde Brownies

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped nuts (opt)

1/3 cup (5 Tbsp) butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

7 oz chocolate chips

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add nuts, mix well and set aside.

Melt butter.  Add brown sugar and beat well.  Let cool.  Add egg and vanilla, blend.  Add flour mixture, small amounts at a time, until just blended. 

Spread in 9×9 or 8×8 inch greased pan.  Sprinkle chocolate chips over the top.

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until slightly browned and toothpick comes out clean.

 

3 Responses to “The Blonde Brownie”

  1. ingrid Says:

    Mmmm, blondies are my favorite bars…..I love the variety though snickerdoodle is probably my very fave.
    ~ingrid

  2. Cheryl Wildowsky Says:

    do u use salted butter?

  3. stacielk Says:

    If I remember right, I’ve used salted butter and even margarine in this recipe.


Leave a Reply

