Kats’ Kitchen

Deep Dish Pizza April 14, 2009

Filed under: Main Dishes — stacielk @ 1:02 am
Tags: , , ,

deep-dish-pizza

If you’re looking for a deep-dish pizza crust, give this one a try.  My husband and I really loved how it turned out. 

You’ll probably notice in the ingredients that it calls for Semolina flour.  This type of flour is used a lot for homemade pastas.  I wouldn’t normally go out and buy ingredients that I know wouldn’t be used very often in my home, but I decided to take a chance.  I thought if the crust turned out good, I would continue to use the flour over and over until it was gone, and that’s what I plan to do! 

For a great pizza sauce recipe, check here.  For deep dish, I suggest making the sauce a bit thicker by adding a little more tomato paste to the mixture.

Deep Dish Pizza Crust

(Makes 2-12 inch pizza crusts)

1 ½ cups warm water

1 pkg active dry yeast

1 tsp sugar

3 ½ cups all-purpose flour

½ cup semolina flour

½ cup oil

1 tsp salt

In a electric mixer bowl fitted with kneading hook, combine the water, yeast and sugar and stir to combine.  Let sit until the mixture is foamy, about five minutes.

Add 1 ½ cups of the flour, the semolina, ½ cup of oil and salt.  Mix until it is incorporated and the mixture is smooth.  Continue adding the flour, a little at a time, mixing the dough after each addition until all the flour is incorporated but the dough is still slightly sticky (I ended up adding an extra 1/8-1/4 cup flour).

Continue kneading the dough with the electric mixer until smooth but still slightly tacky, 3-5 minutes.  Oil a large bowl with oil and place the dough into bowl, turn to oil all sides of dough.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set in a warm draft-free place until doubled 1-1 ½ hours.

Divide into 2 equal portions for 2 twelve-inch deep-dish pizza crusts.

Recipe from:  Food Network

 

2 Responses to “Deep Dish Pizza”

  1. Ashleigh Says:

    This looks great! I LOVE deep-dish pizza and have not found a local joint that does it to my liking. I am going to try this! Thanks for posting the recipe. :) I enjoy your blog. Take care.

  2. Carol Says:

    This looks like a good crust. I can’t wait to try it!


Leave a Reply

