Kats’ Kitchen

Fruit and Brie Quesadillas April 1, 2009

Filed under: Appetizer,Miscellaneous — stacielk @ 12:50 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

pinapple-quesHappy April to all!  Don’t worry, I’ll spare you this year from any stupid April Fool’s jokes that I have up my sleeve, but it’s about time I give you a non-sweet and sugary related recipe don’t you think?

This Quesadilla was awesome.  I really liked the toasted walnuts, they added a nice crunch.  This is more of an appetizer, but I think adding shredded chicken to it would make for a great supper. 

I used Trader Joe’s Pineapple Salsa as the ‘store-bought salsa’.  This was the first time I bought this and  I will continue buying it over and over, I loved it!  It wasn’t overly fruity and it had a little punch too it.  My taste buds can’t handle a whole lot of heat so this was perfect for me. 

Brie cheese is also something that I’ve never purchased.  I was surprised at how well it melted in my quesadilla! 

Here is the recipe for you.  It came from Everyday with Rachael Ray’s April issue, although the actual recipe was submitted by Laura in Lancaster, PA. 

Fruit and Brie Quesadillas

4 oz brie cheese, rine discarded

2 8-inch flour tortillas

2 scallions, chopped

4 Tbsp store-bought fruit salsa

2 Tbsl chopped walnuts, toasted

Spread (cut and place) brie cheese on 1 tortilla and top with half of the green onions.  In a large nonstick skillet cook the tortilla, cheese side up, over medium heat until the cheese is melted, 2-3 minutes.  Top with half of the salsa and half of the walnuts; season with salt.  Fold in half and transfer to a cutting board.  Repeat with the remaining ingredients, then cut each quesadilla into wedges. 

Recipe adopted from:  Laura in Lancaster, PA.

 

3 Responses to “Fruit and Brie Quesadillas”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I LOVE that salsa. I’m so sad that we don’t have a Trader Joes here, but I stock up on it whenever I am near one!

  2. Janet Says:

    Trader Joe’s rocks for sure!

    Thanks for coming by my blog. Sorry you missed the lasagna. It was a good one. The dough is easy if you get a chance to try it. I like to make filled pastas- ravioli or totellini, but they are so time consuming. The lasagna sheets were simple and quick! That filbert gateau is one to try if you get the chance too- it’s very good.


Leave a Reply

